Sally Albrecht

Sally Albrecht
(1954– )

Sally K. Albrecht is a popular choral composer, conductor, and clinician, especially known for her work with choral movement. An annual recipient of the ASCAP Special Music Award since 1987, Sally has more than 500 popular choral publications in print, 70 larger elementary songbooks and musicals, plus 18 choral movement instructional DVDs. Sally has directed and staged the half-time show singers performing during two Florida Citrus Bowls, and has conducted hundreds of honor choir events, including festivals at Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall, and The Kennedy Center. For over three decades, she was the Director of School Choral and Classroom Publications for two major educational music publishing companies.

A native of Cleveland, Ohio, Sally received a B.A. Degree from Rollins College (FL) with a double major in Music and Theater. From there she moved to the University of Miami, where she received both an M.A. in Drama and an M.M. in Accompanying. She was an accompanist for Fred Waring and taught in the music departments at Oakland University (MI) and Jersey City State College (NJ). Sally has worked with literally thousands of teachers, presenting sessions at music conventions and workshops in over 40 states, Canada, Singapore, and Australia.

Sally and her husband, composer/arranger Jay Althouse, currently enjoy living in Raleigh, North Carolina. They were thrilled to have their composition “I Hear America Singing!” performed during the 2009 Presidential Inauguration Ceremonies. In 2015, Sally’s “Domine Deus” was sung by the Archdiocesan Children’s Choir as the Pope arrived at the Cathedral Basilica of Saints Peter and Paul in Philadelphia. In 2016, her spiritual arrangement “Ain’t-a That Good, Good News!” was premiered at Carnegie Hall by the WorldStrides OnStage Honors Junior Choir, and her composition “This Is the Day!” was premiered by the Texas Choral Directors Association Elementary Honor Choir. Sally currently serves as a Foundation Trustee of the Omicron Delta Kappa national leadership honor society and is a proud recipient of their 2014 “Pillar of Leadership” award.

For a complete listing of titles by this author, click HERE.